RR&Co and Voltage

Posted
Rating:
#121885 (In Topic #6362)

Brian wrote

The elephant in the room in all of this is the layout wiring.  Is anyone, other than me, using a setup with equal voltages in detected and undetected sections?

With the unbalanced system there could be difficulties in setting up contact distances and positioning of stop markers when the time comes to use the same markers for engines and trains of varying lengths.  What are the effects of a delayed switch off to stop flickering? It ought not to be a problem for me so I haven't thought this through - has anyone else?  May be this voltage thing needs a whole new thread.

This is a quote from Brian's post in the Box Car thread . 

I am a self taught hobby electrician:shock: with no formal training and I tend to do wiring by numbers so please forgive my clumsy descriptions/questions…………I will definitely benefit from a thread of this nature

First off I dont understand "equal voltages in detected and undetected sections"…………could I have a dummies guide please?

John
Granby III
Lenz DCC,RR&Co Gold V10 A4 Windows 10
Online now: No Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
Guest user
Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
Yes, Brian states the issue perfectly, but ……

it depends on the input circuit for the detector. I have a single 8 way LDT occupancy detector, and like the frog detector I built myself, it uses diodes to create a detectable voltage when current flows through them to the track - and therefore follows Brian's logic above.