walls walls walls

Posted
Rating:
#4890 (In Topic #629)
Guest user
i want retaining walls on my layout, i have tried the scalescene stuff. these are ok but lack depth. Looking at other retaining walls about the web i was shocked at the price 13 quid
Hornby R7374 High Stepped Arched Red Brick Retaining Walls Skaledale Painted Resin Building OO

i have some linka moulds but looking through these i don't have one that resembles a retaining wall :cry:  i have never used linka before. i have checked out the linka thread
Hornby R7374 High Stepped Arched Red Brick Retaining Walls Skaledale Painted Resin Building OO
from the index Bob :wink:
what i plan to do is buy a retaining wall then make a mould then produce the amount i need. i have read somewhere about making the moulds, but i can't find the site :cry:
has anyone done this? got any tips or have the link?
from what i remember is you make the frame, place in original item, then paint on then pour a liquid that turns to the rubber mould.

cheers all in advance
Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
Legacy Member
Have a look at this article Matt. It may help, it's for making latex molds.

Model Making Resources, Mould Making With Latex
Online now: No Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
Guest user
How about these from International Models, realistic and cheaper !
A 500mm length of parallel retaining wall is £6.50
http://www.internationalmodels.net/acatalog/Main_Catalogue_Index_Retaining_Walls_40.html
Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
Legacy Member
Good link Oxide and I particularly like the open retaining wall.

Posted
Rating:
There is some Linka information already on this forum at:

http://yourmodelrailway.com/viewtopic.php?t=508

Perry

Due to cutbacks, the light at the end of the tunnel has been switched off.

Posted
Rating:
Guest user
cheers all
i managed to find the link i was looking for. a good read

DIY plaster casting process | Model Railway Forum

and i found some silocone mould rubber, this is 14 quid,