New Layout

Posted
Rating:
#245878 (In Topic #13583)
Hi,
I am just starting out and would like some help with Wiring this layout. I intend to have it DCC and all Points are Electrofrog from Peco.
Thanks

Online now: No Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
Ed
Site staff
Ed is in the usergroup ‘Super-moderators’
You mind find a lot of the information you want on Brain Lambert's site Graham.

DCC Page 1

Ed

Last edit: by Ed

Posted
Rating:
Hello Graham,
Good start mate…

Unlike others I have done diagrams for, this one was fairly straight forward being DCC from the start. 

I have lifted the track plan from your post and added insulated joiners to it showing where you will need to put insulated joiners on each of the inner, outer or both rails.

The diagram itself is a bit small and you may miss a detail so I would suggest you enlarge your screen or copy and paste the diagram on to a Word Processor page and enlarge it .

Wiring it would also be fairly straight forward in that you would have two different coloured wires forming a loop under full length of the layout.  I have lifted the next section from a previous post.

Being an electrician by trade helps me but if you use a pair of side cutters, hold the wire securely with one hand and grip the wire with the side cutters just slightly tighter than the diameter of the plastic and slide it. The insulation will shear at that point and you can "bunch it up" exposing enough wire to wrap around the tee. Join and solder. You might need to practice a few times on some extra wire as you are bound to cut through it the first few times. I do not use strippers as there are many situations that you cannot get them into place. 

If you are making a Tee it is a good idea (I think anyway) to do a tee wrap before soldering… see the illustration!