GWR 57XX in 7mm. This IS the very last kit build.....

Posted
Rating:
#235616 (In Topic #12986)

from a JLTRT kit purchased 6mths before their demise.......

OK, I`m going to build a riveted tank version based on a 1930`s batch built by Kerr,Stuart and Co numbered 7700-7724 that were vacuum brake fitted so can be used on passenger duties. ( those numbered 6700-6724 built at W G Bagnall were not vacuum fitted and were for shunting only).

This above is what I`m aiming for……………………………………………………………………………………………..

The kit is very well designed and has been around for some time (until recently with the sudden demise of JTLRT)
Yes I know there are 7mm RTR versions on the market from Minerva and Dapol, but I have a strong preference for
handbuilt versions with my own choices of compromises rather than theirs.

The kit relies on very good diagramatical instructions with next to no written description, so not for the absolute novice.

As always I choose to build a reliable working chassis mechanism first…….   I am and always have been a follower of sprung hornblocks for all locomotive chassis ever since my 4mm P4 modelling days as this method provides the best way of maintaining electrical pickup from track to wheels and I believe adds to the smoothness and realism of locomotive performance, particularly as I am a strong convert to DCC Sound where good electrical conductivity is paramount.

Whilst researching other modellers effortswith this particular kit, I noted the accuracy of the nickel silver chassis side frames when using the lost-wax cast hornguides and bearings supplied with the kit. However, despite other modellers sucesses, Ifound the hornguides and bearings in my kit had far too much slop in both the axle bearing and the bearing and hornguide……….