A Prototype For Everything

Posted
Rating:
34   CARRIAGES ON "FOREIGN TURF"

From Trevor Gibbs (Melbourne)
Back in 1975, I was a travelling electrician/technician on the Indian Pacific between Pt Pirie in South Australia and Sydney. On one trip out of Sydney, our Baggage car developed a Bogie problem so a Southern Aurora Baggage Car was substituted which went to my knowledge right through to Perth. Another trip had our diner replaced with an Aurora dining car. This car was very good but only had enough provisioning for a night and a breakfast and had a totally different key system to other “Indian Cars” and would not have lasted 4 meal sittings anyway. It was changed out to my knowledge at Pt Pirie and returned dead in consist during the week.
Online now: No Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
35.   Odd Workings
From Paul Reilly
I recall reading in magazines of the time that 'Coronation' pacific 46248 (City of Leeds) worked a Callander-Glasgow turn from Callander….It apparently came to Stirling on the legendary Sutton Coldfield car carrier train and was used by Stirling during its layover. The same entry refers to earlier use of both 'Coronations' and 'Royal Scots' on this turn but, when I finally managed to obtain the relevant copy, it mentioned only their having been seen at Buchanan St. on arrival from Callander, so it's always possible they were substituted at Stirling for another engine that brought the train in from Callander - that's pretty unlikely though.
The City of Leeds report specified that it was seen at Callander, though. In addition, the recent DVD of Caledonian Routes (volume 4 I think) has footage of Brush Type 4 D1856 (subsequently Class 47 number 47206) running round a local train at Callander… Interesting (and illegal) workings.

Posted
Rating:
36  ODD  WORKINGS
From Bill Dodd