New member - and initial baseboard dilemma

Posted
Rating:
#229503 (In Topic #12544)
Hi all … as a new member I've been reading the past postings on the topic of baseboards with interest but the more I read the more I'm unsure. I'm a novice railway layout but have access to a n gauge layout and the guys that run it .. so have some ideas already. I'm planning to build a N gauge end to end layout myself of 2 or 3 sections which I plan to eventually exhibit at smaller exhibitions but that will be some time in the future.I have a focus on keeping the weight to a minimum but also conscious of ensuring the baseboards remain solid and no bends / warping. The 3 section sizes will be 4ft x 16inch and I plan to use 5.5mm hardwood ply with the side 4ft lengths and cross members being 2x1 sawn wood, with the 16 inch ends being 2x2 for extra strength for the dowelled and locking clip mountings. My feeling is that given the relatively narrow width and overall small sections, the construction materials mentioned above would be more than adequate but I still wonder if I should use 9mm ply for extra resistance to any possible bending of the ply.

I will also store the layout during construction and as its home in the garage which is dry and not damp but of course cold in the winter months.

So, would the more experience amongst you think the construction plan of materials above what be fine to use … and apologise for bringing up the topic again.

Many thanks
Paul

Online now: No Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
You might have seen my threads Paul:

http://yourmodelrailway.net/view_topic.php?id=14385&forum_id=5

http://yourmodelrailway.net/view_topic.php?id=14643&forum_id=21

I suppose I have my own funny ideas about baseboard construction.  For stability, I favour plywood, not only for the tops but the sides and ends as well.  This is a lesson learned from my early experience where DIY 1x2 pine was always warped and made the board warped too.