Teasel Bay

Posted
Rating:

Early construction of a simple 00 garage layout

Just out of interest what don't you like about the wiring? It seems to be working well with wiring knowledge  exclam:
Online now: No Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
Ed
Site staff
Ed is in the usergroup ‘Super-moderators’
I suspect Chris, it's that some people are rightly or wrongly rather adverse to using scotchlock type connectors for connecting droppers to the bus wires.

But I may be wrong  :lol:

Ed

Posted
Rating:
Site staff
spurno is in the usergroup ‘Super-moderators’
Chris,i used to work in the automotive industry and they were well known for the connections to loosen and also to corrode.Bear in mind though that in those instances they were partially open to the elements.Under a baseboard they might perform more reliably.I would test for continuity after each connection though,it may save you some head scratching later on.Most people seem to prefer soldered joints but rule 1 always applies.

Regards

Alan

Born beside the mighty GWR.

Posted
Rating:
Thanks for the heads up. I test each connection with the meter to ensure a good connection and give it a little tug before soldering. If they do start to cause issues in the future it isn't difficult to prise them off and replace. 

Posted
Rating:
Hi Chris,

Scotchloks, love 'em or hate 'em. I like them, but only in humidity controlled environments. It's the usual issue of dissimilar metals -steel/zinc on copper. Add a bit of moisture and hey presto electrolytic corrosion and reduced conductance or a break in continuity with fine gauge wire (as in droppers). In going from large to small diameter wires (bus to dropper)  you often need 2 (12 to 16 to 18 gauge for example). Terminal strips (chock-blocks) are a better bet if you don't want to solder.

Nigel

©Nigel C. Phillips

Posted
Rating: