DCC sound

Posted
Rating:
#227340 (In Topic #12402)

Hornby Terrier

Hi All.    After purchasing a Hornby. A1x Terrier, I was reading the recommended way of fitting DCC sound.Which involves removing the weight, drilling and hacking a hole to fit the Decoder , and this is from Hornby.
As anyone knows I am not an expert by any stretch of the imagination. And as theTerrier is so small in the first place I cannot see how removing the weight would allow it to pull a train,it may be necessary to fit the Decoder? But " If it then couldn't pull the skin off a rice pudding? All the puffing and panting ain't a bit of good? If you know what I mean.
Has anyone bothered doing this? DIY or sending it away, to be done?

Please advise.   Kevin

Staying on the thread Kevin.
Online now: No Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
Sol
Site staff
Sol is in the usergroup ‘Super-moderators’
Max had worked on my Terrier with sound - a squeeze it was and I don't think he removed any weight but it was a dog to run - not heavy enough as the DCC cut in & out…

Ron
NCE DCC ; 00 scale UK outline.

Posted
Rating:

Posted
Rating:
Inactive Member
I used a Loksound micro and made my own sound project from a DVD a guy sent me of his ride on the footplate.

The wheels need to be spotless and the track also.  But that's Hornby.  Beautiful detail, but poor runners.

Posted
Rating:
Lovely Max, a sound decoder can transform a locomotive.  Do I see firebox glow?  Nice touch.

Some earlier loco modes were obviously not designed with DCC (not to mention sound) in mind so it can be a challenge to get it done.

I put sound in my Hornby 08.  Lovely model but crap runner.  I couldn't get it to traverse a turnout without stalling.  I gave up in the end and bought the Bachmann.

John

Last edit: by Brossard

John

Posted
Rating:
The Hornby Terrier started off as a Dapol model, dating from the 1980s (if memory serves me correctly).