Kit Bashing

Posted
Rating:

Etched brass kits

Hi Nigel Since I purchased a "Dutch Oven" to bake my sourdough on, I have a redundant granite (Reconstituted) baking stone, which is fairly flat, but most definitely hard. I have been considering using this to square up or bend etched brass on. But it is the clamping that would be a problem.  Kevin

Staying on the thread Kevin.
Online now: No Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
Hi Kevin,

I find a Mk1 hand is useful for holding things (the palm side thereof).

Nigel

©Nigel C. Phillips

Posted
Rating:
Hi Nigel. Thank you, that sure is possible, but, maybe after building several kits. Experience counts for a lot! As I am a novice kit builder and having problems with " Run of the Mill" plastic kits, I will take a pass on the Palm Clamp.
All the best. Kevin

Last edit: by Passed Driver

Posted
Rating:
Hi Kevin,
I know what you are saying. When I returned to railway modelling I really struggled with plastic kits and when I tried a brass kit I took to it like the proverbial duck. It wasn't until I had a few brass kits under my belt that I had a further go at plastic with success.

Regards Rob

Posted
Rating:
Hi RobThank you for your reply. One kit in particular kit is the GWR 6 ton crane, which has so many parts. But I must persist.
All the best  Kevin

Posted
Rating:
Hi Kevin,

Rob's right - brass is a lot more forgiving than plastic (if designed and etched properly). Solder is usually undoable, solvent welds usually not.

Lochgorm Kits do a beginners fret of an LMS or LNER wagon, at £7 it's worthwhile getting one to start practicing on (the intention). That said, it doesn't hurt to tackle a simple plastic kit from Ratio or Cambrian so you know what goes where before you enter the wonderful world of etches and step soldering. Whatever you do, I would steer clear of white metal kits and the black art of low temperature soldering until you have done a few brass ones.

Nigel

©Nigel C. Phillips

Posted
Rating:
Hi Nigel