Windows 10 problems?

Posted
Rating:

You are not alone

How about we discuss the right tool for the job.
It is the same argument as Ford/Holden, VHS/Beta, record/digital, coke/pepsi etc etc.
Here in the office we have a 50/50 split between Linux (all flavours) and Windows (all flavours). If one or the other suits you and what you are trying to achieve go for it.
Andrew
Online now: No Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
Inactive Member
Discuss away.  I know from friends in the IT business, that they use a lot of Linux because they can write software to suit their work needs.

However, I could count on the fingers of one hand (I'm not good with numbers :lol:), the number of private people who have had success with it.

They are usually geeks and well capable of playing with it.

Ordinary folks want instant gratification (otherwise known as plug n play).  Or it doesn't suit what we are trying to do.

For example, Railroad & Co is a Windows based program and doesn't work with Linux - unless you load up their Windows lookalike software.  Lots of messing around.  I've tried it.

On the other hand, I bought a laptop and Windows 10; and downloaded the RR&Co software - it worked first time.

I know that Linux is clean and green and saves the forests, but it's a discipline of its own.

Just look at the number of members here who are struggling with XP on a single core processor and won't upgrade. 

Even if you manage to master Linux, then you have to deal with freeware like Open Office.  Open Office spread sheets need to be reformatted to MS Office before sharing, otherwise people get the hump.  I tried to send an OO spreadsheet to my Accountant one year at Tax Time and got well and truly told.

All I'm saying is to those people who are having computer issues, Linux is probably not going to be The Answer to The Maiden's Prayer.  We're fixing the forum.  Fix your computer first if it needs it.  Then play with Linux if you are interested.

Cheers

Posted
Rating:
Ed
Site staff