New Life For Old Wagons

Posted
Rating:
Inactive Member

Weathering basic plastic no frills old Hornby wagons

Great tips Nigel.

Your methods must achieve an extremely high level of realism.

:cheers  Gormo

"Anyone who claims to have never made a mistake, never made anything!!"

https://sites.google.com/site/greatchesterfordmodelrailway/home
Online now: No Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
Hi Gormo,

Thanks, but I'm an average modeler. I belong to the 3 foot society (as in "if it looks good from 3 feet I'ts good enough for me…", which corresponds to about 75 yards in 12" to the foot). I try and keep my weathering minimalistic (hence the choice of weathering powders as the medium), and check photo's before starting. Heavy weathering, rust, limescale, etc. was not the norm except for some very specific periods (late WW-1, WW-2, 1945-post nationalization, steam/diesel transition). Some examples I have show a rake of dumb-buffered pre-RCH mineral wagons at an iron ore mine in 1908 where the name of the owner is barely discernible through the coat of dust, and an assortment of PO mineral wagons in the early 1930's at the same location that are spotlessly clean or that have just a fine coat of track dust. Exactly the opposite of what would be expected. Labor was cheap pre-WW-1, economically impossible for most of the 1930's.

One thing to keep in mind was that PO wagons were requisitioned by the government during WW-2, bought at a fixed price and never returned to their owners. The MOT dictated the building of steel sided 16 ton wagons during the war (some 50,000 wagons according to the online cyclopedia). Running wooden RCH PO wagons in a 1950's freight would be anachronistic if adhering to the prototype. A coat of grey paint and a P (wood) or B (steel) number was the norm. Very few PO wagons were built post-1945 and even less post 1948. Another point is that steel sided mineral wagons were being built in the 1930's, including some 20 ton, 8 wheel (2 trucks) models.