Kind of plan in N gauge

Posted
Rating:
#288835 (In Topic #21744)
With thanks to the kind members who have made me feel welcome here I promised to most mt latest (of very many) plans for my first model railway in about 50 years. I have an 8 x 5 space in the house I've just moved into so thought a forage into N gauge might be a plan. If I can get it to work Ill post the latest plan here. It was done using flexi track in SCARM and I'm not that good at it so there are a few wobbly looking bits.

OK a few Caveats. My love of railways stems from my love of steam locos especially the products of Messrs Churchward, Collet, and Bullied. I dont really know a great deal about prototypical operations apart from on the main lines it would be normal to drive on the left so to speak. Also got no clue about rolling stock apart from GWR coaches should be chocolate and cream and SR coaches should be green. And GWR freight trains should have a toad guards van.

Anyway having proved myself a complete Phillistine here goes 8x5 final with station 80pc.jpg
Online now: No Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
I gather from your posts that you haven't built a layout before and that your knowledge of the prototype is thin.

My advice is to slow down.  Build something small at first like a small station/goods yard.  This will give you a chance to gain experience with all the aspects of layout building while permitting you to get something running fairly quickly.

My layout is 0 gauge but just for something to think about, here is the track plan:

Layout Without Measurements.jpg
Even so, I have been building this since 2017 and there is still a ton of work left to do.

John

John

Posted
Rating:
Hi John

A nice looking plan and I'm sure good advice.

Its not that I have no experience at all of building a layout just not in the last 45 odd years or without the help of my Dad lol. Or in N gauge.