Level Board All Round

Posted
Rating:
#288147 (In Topic #21690)

Not sure

Hi and Thank you for allowing me too join.

I have had over a number of years a OO Gauge DCC layout on 12mm thick Oriented Strand  Board.

Having got tired off my original design I am now removing it all and doing a revised layout. It will still be 1940 GWR conceipt. DCC Engines.

My issue is and seek advice or past topics.

I have looked at the current level of the base board which is sound but there are areas that are not level as I would like. Such depressions in the level.

These drops are say 2mm or 3mm But in the old design caused issues on laying the lines and train derailment.

The thought of plywood strips unde the offending areas or whot people may suggest. Bearing in mind that there will be about 5 track lines running around this same drop in the board.
Online now: No Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
Ed
Site staff
Ed is in the usergroup ‘Super-moderators’
Hi Clive, welcome to the club.

I'm no expert on base boards, but I would say if there warped in some way you probably need to replace them.

There are others on here far more knowledgeable than me on this subject, so I suggest you wait for some more replies.

Ed

Posted
Rating:
Site staff
spurno is in the usergroup ‘Super-moderators’
Welcome to the club Clive.:thumbs:

Regards

Alan

Born beside the mighty GWR.

Posted
Rating:
Hi Clive.  Not at all sure what "oriented strand board" is, but that's maybe because I wouldn't touch it for model railway baseboard.

Plywood is the way IMO and I have built boards that are sturdy and warp free.