Teasel Bay

Posted
Rating:
#229373 (In Topic #12532)

Early construction of a simple 00 garage layout

I have recently started on a new layout which I have named Teasel Bay.  I am a complete novice as my original layout was a simple board with an oval or two in my early teens.  A dropped the hobby for a number of years and now I have a reasonable space I have decided to have some fun.  While going through the process of buying the new house I browsed this forum looking for ideas, there are some very impressive layouts on here, if I can make Teasel Bay look half as them I'll be happy.

A lot has changed in the 15 years I've been away from the hobby, the advent of digital control which will reduce the wiring considerably and allow me to run many trains at once with ease.  I am not really a fan of the Hornby Railmaster software, as a software developer by trade I have set out to write my own control software as well as build the railway!

Teasel Bay is going to be loosely based between 1830 and current day….  

I hope you enjoy watching the progress as the layout slowly advances and any helpful tips along the way will be greatly received.

Online now: No Back to the top

Posted
Rating:

How many people start with an oval of track on the living room floor?

I decided to start with the Western Master set for £100 as it came with the eLink, Railmaster and a 0-6-0 Pannier Tank to kick me off.

The first cut… I decided to go with a simple wooden frame as its easily to work with.  My woodwork skills are nothing to shout about, I have used common sense on my joins and pure educated guess work, which seems to have worked so far.