Playing Dirty

Posted
Rating:

Rick's adventures on the weathering bench

Oi…Guv…. give us a wash mate! 
Hard worked and dusty indeed. The tanks are especially good Rick.

Marty
N Gauge, GWR West Wales
Newcastle Emlyn Layout.
Newcastle Emlyn Station is "Under construction"
Online now: No Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
That's a great bit of weathering Rick - just the right amount to make them look "used" without looking grotty.#

A "how to" on these latest subjects, particularly the vans, wouldn't give away too many trade secrets ……………………. :roll: :roll:

'Petermac

Posted
Rating:
I'll just pop this link in here which also appeared in the Waddlemarsh thread recently.  There really are no trade secrets to my weathering.  It's largely self-taught and judging from the comments (and in normal times the exhibition invitations) I receive I seem to have found a successful formula and style.  

Rick
Layouts here and here

Posted
Rating:
N-class 31874 might have had some problems. Is that washout or scorching on the smokebox door? 

Meanwhile the first in a rake of six Delabole presflo wagons has been weathered. 

Rick
Layouts here and here

Posted
Rating:
Wow Rick,
This is the thread that just keeps giving! No shortage of great images and potential photos of the month here.This is the kind of modelling that leaves me gasping, the attention to detail makes it difficult to believe that it is in fact a model and not actual prototype photos of a real place.That sense of place is so strong, even without any locos or stock, the buildings and station furniture make it 100% Southern.The acid test for any layout! Remarkable!

:pathead

Cheers,John.B.:thumbs

Posted
Rating:
Thank you!  Very kind words. 

Here’s a tale of two N class locos. 31869 is short of coal, displays weathering inside the tender and has its headsignsl disc set for position 2 indicating Nine Elms - Windsor or Feltham Yard - Willesden via Gunnersbury.