00 gauge - Pen Y Bryn.

Posted
Rating:
I've been engraving for all the big boys for thirty years with lots of exhibition work magazine articles and features in books etc and many well known customers so I guess people know who I am :lol:

The commissions come usually from the customer and also from the gunmakers.

Phil
Online now: No Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
Here's another area i've just worked on, the literaly twenty year trees needed a makeover as the middle one especially was looking a bit tired and thin, pic 1.

Pic 2, some stiff wire was pushed through to make a larger framework.

Pic 3, Woodlans Scenic's light green foliage was added with PVA glue to fill the areas out.

Pic 4, air laquer was sprayed on then medium green turf and then burnt turf was added, and sprayed lightly to hold. 

Pic 5, dark green turf was added to the left tree and light green the the right one.

Phil

Phil

Posted
Rating:
What a transformation Phil. :shock:

It's an amazing change from those ugly heavy wires to the finished article.

It looks as if you did it all in situ ………:roll::roll:  How do you clean up the mess and do you re-use the surplus ?  If so, what do you use as a vacuum so you can retrieve the stuff ?  Mine usually ends up in a big bag with 7 tons of carpet fluff, dog and cat hairs, crumbs and other "waste products" from the domestic department ……………:cry::cry:

'Petermac

Posted
Rating:
Peter, as you can see from pic 4 I place paper sheets everywhere, to catch the surplus and to stop the spray from going onto the rails etc.

Phil

Posted
Rating:
I saw that Phil but assumed you used a vac afterwards to clean up the strays that miss the sheeting. :roll:

If so, do you just discard that ?

'Petermac

Posted
Rating:
There's so little of the strays that I disgard them, however when there's not I just use a piece of fine cloth in the end of the tube, I guess thats standard practice.

Phil

Last edit: by Phil.c

Phil

Posted
Rating: