7mm GWR E140 B set from 1980`s RJH kits

Posted
Rating:
#231772 (In Topic #12688)
I won these very rare 7mm kits on ebay about 5 years ago and was thinking about selling them on again because of the recent Dapol/lionheart RTR offerings.
But as granny once told me `never give up on a decent metal kit`…..and I think these are still good kits for their age. And they are complete kits except for paint and lining.

This what you get……….

The instructions are virtually diagramatical with minimal written instructions so not a great help for an absolute beginner but the kit is broken down into easily achievable units and the parts are well designed.

The thick brass  sides come ready formed….. yippee ! but I could see that the recessed Guards dorrs would be the most awkward to build…. so I began with these to get them out of the way.

There are (thick) etched infills to be folded up and soldered in place….I considered annealing but decided against……………..

They were a bit if a fiddle to shape…………

Next to assemble was the `recessed` door handles.

These are etched backplates to be soldered up with plenty of heat to enable the solder to flow evenly.

A bit of carefull soldering later and the most awkward assembly is completed.  I used a model filler to finish of the recessed doors…….

Twobolt John
Online now: No Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
Hi John,

Nice looking kit.

Nigel

©Nigel C. Phillips

Posted
Rating:
Excellent work John.

Posted
Rating:
They look excellent so far John. I was recently queried about some RJH Gresley coaches but I couldn't comment because I didn't know that RJH had done any Gresley coaches.

Regards Rob

Posted
Rating:
Thankyou all
I did`nt know that RJH produced LNER coach kits Bob but they are mentioned in the generic instructions.

I very much appreciate the design of this kit and have decided to upgrade the detailing from what is on offer from the 1980`s