Kadee magnetic uncoupling

Posted
Rating:
Sol
Site staff
Sol is in the usergroup ‘Super-moderators’

Using neodymium magnets between the sleepers

Kevin. no doubt Perry will respond in due course   but I use code 75 and my 3 rows of magnets replace sleepers and are level with the other sleepers.

And you must make sure the uncoupling pin/tang/hook clears the  little foot plate on the height gauge

and as per https://kadee.com/html/205_206ins.pdf

Ron
NCE DCC ; 00 scale UK outline.
Online now: No Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
Hi Ron. Thank you for your reply. I cannot remember if that is the case, but, I will check. I will advise on my findings.All the best. Kevin

Staying on the thread Kevin.

Posted
Rating:
I've been using Kadees on my UK stock for 16 years. And I tried the Kadee between the rails magnets as well as the rare-earth magnets. After many many many hours of fettleing both couplers and magnets I came to the conclusion that it wasn't worth the time or effort due to the unreliability of both the magnetic uncoupling and the lack of reliability of the couplers re-centreing after uncoupling. Not to mention the totally unreal and unprototypical Kadee shuffle. The old skewer saves alot of wasted time and frustration….and is actually more prototypical.  I have to admit that I suspect the only magnetic Kadee uncoupling that might have a modicum of reliability might be the Kadee electro-magnet unit, which I haven't tried…and that probably has its own issues includeing extra wiring.

Posted
Rating:
Wow Gene!  The simple skewer is something I've been preaching for a long time.  I will concede that there are layouts with nooks and crannys that can't be reached with a skewer.

Magnets and, worse, electromagnets have always seemed to me to be more trouble than they're worth.

Most, if not all, coupling systems in the real world require some sort of manual intervention to uncouple.

John

John

Posted
Rating: