Bachmann L & YR 2-4-2 Tank

Posted
Rating:

New model has arrived.

Looks to be a clever quasi radial truck design.

John

John

Online now: No Back to the top

Posted
Rating:
Santa was very kind to Granby this year……courtesy of Hattons and Canada Post……… two splendid but very different locos arrived on the very last Post on Christmas Eve………an LMS 2-4-2T and a GWR Star 4-6-0    (I will write up the latter in the Hornby section)

Here is the LMS version of the Lanky Tank that Terry has.

Lots of nostalgia for me……they were shedded at both Bankhall and Southport so I must have seen them as a boy hauling the two coach Southport-London through train.  This summer, over 60 years later, my wife photographed me next to the preserved L&Y loco in the NRM

Lots to like……crisp lettering………..shed code, manufacters plate etc

I think Bachmann have done a brilliant job with their recent issues of work horse LMS locos… the 3F, 4F and now this Class 5 all reek of authenticity…….I am no expert but this model has met with universal acclaim.  I particularly like the delicacy of the wheels

Excellent cab detail……they even have planking on the floor

Rivets on the bunker

This shot shows the one gripe I have so far…….the NEM pocket holder is set too low so that when you fit Kadee couplers as above  they are maybe 3mm below standard…….this may not seem much but based on my own experience  I know this will be outside the operating tolerances. Later today I will research the Kadee site to see if different shank heights are available……to the best of my knowledge the NEM compatible couplers only vary in overall length not height.

If the worst comes to the worst I will just have to modify a pocket and glue it direct……not ideal particularly on a new model

Finally a posed and, from a historical viewpoint, highly questionable black and white shot